Magogo fails in bid to join CAF executive

Moses Magogo
President of the Uganda FA, Moses Magogo

President of the Uganda FA, Moses Magogo has failed in his bid to become an executive member of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

During the afternoon session after Ahmad Ahmad had defeated incumbent Issa Hayatou for the presidency, Magogo picked 7 votes and could not qualify for the re-run for the two candidates with high votes.

In the first round for the Central East Zone Ethiopia’s Juneido Basha Tilmo had 9 votes, Magdi Shams El Din (Sudan) 12, Magogo 7 and Ahmad’s key campaigner Suleiman Hassan Waberi (Djibouti) 20. In the second round Tilmo withdrew and the Djibouti boss who is also a member on a FIFA Committee was declared the winner.

“This is part of politics. I am happy that Africa has had some many changes in the CAF set-up and this is good for the development of the sport,” said Magogo.

Morocco’s Fouzi Lekjaa who voted the North Zone member after picking 41 votes against Mohamed Raouraoua (Algeria) who had 7 points. Liberia’s Hassan Musa Bility was elected representatives from the West A Zone after he picked 26 votes against Amadou Diakite (Mali) who had 22 votes.

Another strong supporter of Ahmad from the West B Zone Amavu Melvin Pinnick (Nigeria) collected 32 votes to beat incumbent Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin) 17 votes.

South Africa’s FA President Danny Jordaan and Rui Eduardo Da Costa (Angola) were elected to represent the Southern Zone, while Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone) became the female representative when she collected 35 votes against Lydia Nsereka’s (Burundi) 12.

But Nsekera was voted representative to be a FIFA Council member together with Almany Kabele Camara (Guinea), Tarek Bouchamoui (Tunisia), Kwesi Nyantakyi (Ghana) and Omari Constant Selemani.

– Uganda Radio Network