FUFA President Moses Magogo joins race for CAF Central East Zone seat

FUFA President Moses Magogo joins race for CAF Central East Zone seat
FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo

The President of the Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA), Moses Hassim Magogo has joined the race to contest as a CAF executive member representing the Central East Zone.

Elections to fill six positions for the different regions will take place July 18th, 2019 during the Confederation of African Football Associations (CAF) Ordinary General Assembly in Cairo, Egypt.

Magogo is currently a co-opted executive member of the Confederation of African Football, appointed by the President Ahmad Ahmad.

Magogo told this publication in an exclusive interview at the Fufa headquarters in Mengo on Wednesday that he has submitted his candidature. “I think I still have a lot to offer African Football as a member of the executive and this time I want to be elected,” said Magogo.

The FUFA President now joins experienced football administrator and former Cecafa and Tanzania FA President, Leodegar Tenga and President of the Somali Football Federation (SFF), Abdiqani Said Arab to contest for the position. Tenga who was elected in 2011 and re-elected on 2015 has been the representative in the CAF executive Committee for the Central East Zone.

The Central East Zone comprises all members of the Council for East and Central African Football Association (Cecafa) that include; Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda, Zanzibar, Burundi, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Sudan and South Sudan.

Apart from Tenga, the other executive members whose term of office on the CAF executive committee is expiring include; Jamal El Jaafri (Libya) for the Northern Zone, Augustin Senghor (Senegal) for the Western Zone A, Sita Sangare (Burkina Faso) for the Western Zone B, Patrice Edouard Ngaissona (Central African Republic) for the Central Zone and Kalusha Bwalya (Zambia) for the Southern Zone.